The Leaf Library : New Year

The Leaf Library 'New Year'

Free MP3 = Direct download | Soundcloud | Myspace

The Leaf Library started out in Reading in 2004 after the demise of guitarist Matt Ashton’s previous band, Peel-favourites Saloon. After a move to London, he and vocalist/keyboardist Kate Gibson were joined by bass player Jona and guitarist Ben Smith. With influences that include buildings, stationery and the weather; the band create minimal, melodic songs with a sound that sits comfortably between Stereolab’s two chord drone rock and the stripped-down groove of late 70s Fleetwood Mac.

Written exactly four years ago in a bedroom in North London, 'New Year' is a song for the possibilities of the future, an unsentimental guess at where we might find ourselves in the next year. It was recorded and produced with electronic musician Clause Four in one day on the 30th of December 2008 at Sound Solution Studios in Hackney.

The Leaf Library '2009 Mixtape'

MP3 download/stream from Soundcloud

A 60 minute mix put together by the band containing some of their favourite tracks alongside 2008 single 'Losing Places', unreleased song 'Light & Colour' and a remix of 'No Memories, No Plans' by Clause Four.

01. Yo La Tengo - Autumn Sweater
02. The Leaf Library - Light & Colour
03. Broadcast - Where Youth And Laughter Go
04. Kate Bush - Cloudbusting
05. Mazzy Star - Bells Ring
06. Fujiya & Miyagi - Transparent Things
07. Lali Puna - 6-0-3
08. The Leaf Library - No Memories, No Plans (Clause Four Remix)
09. New Order - Run 2
10. Talking Heads - This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)
11. Fleetwood Mac - Never Forget
12. Panda Bear - Ponytail
13. Spiritualized - All Of My Tears
14. Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Southern Jukebox Music
15. The Leaf Library - Losing Places

Happy New Year!


(yeah ok, it's my band but its free music so what the hey!)